Hair Crush: Carly Cushnie

Carly... punky funky chic!

Punky funky!
Image Credit

I’m in love with the faux-hawk, fohawk, frohawk, or whatever you want to call it. I’ve got tons of pictures of the zillion variations on this style pinned to my personal Pinterest shrine to all things nappy, and I never get bored or tired of it. Looks good dressed up for a formal occasion, or dressed down for coffee with friends.  It’s cool and edgy and chic and stylish and… oh, am I gushing?

I’ve been wanting to try it but haven’t had the balls to actually go through with the big chop that would be necessary to pull it off. Granted, it is not a full-on mohawk, complete with shaved sides and back, but still… a certain amount of shearing would be called for… not that my hair is waist-length or anything.  I’m just attached to what little length I do have… silly, I know… sigh…

Stylista/Napturalista/Inspirista!

Fashionistas!
Image Credit

Enter Carly Cushnie, half of the uber urban chic fashion design duo Cushnie et Ochs. These ladies have done work for the likes of First Lady Michelle Obama, Olivia Wilde, Eva Longoria, and Kerry Washington.  According to Andre Leon, their clothes balance edge, glamour and sexiness with everyday practicality.  Who wouldn’t want to add that to her wardrobe?

My long-standing hair crush on her started with a series of photos that included the one on the upper left corner of this post. Her funky do with multiple colours and textures captivated me.  She just looks so cool and confident and comfortable with her chicness.  It’s so natural and effortless.  The fierce is inspiring!

Carly posing her fro!

Carly Poses Her Fro
Image Credit

Maybe next fall…

What style have you been thinking of trying, but are not ready to commit to yet?

Waddyathink?